Nigerian Army retires 29 Generals after appointing new Chief of Army Staff

About twenty-nine Army Generals have been forced to retire from the Nigerian Army following the appointment of Major General Farouk Yahaya as the Chief of Army Staff.

The new Chief of Army Staff who hails from Sokoto State was appointed by the President and Commander-In-Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari.

The forceful retirement of the Army Generals is not in tandem with the position of the Defence HQ last week that claimed that none of its officers had been retired.

With Major General Yahaya of Course 37 picked as the COAS, this means that between 30 and 45 Generals who are his seniors, belonging to Course 35 and 36 may be asked to go home.

It’s a military tradition that when a Junior is appointed as a service chief, senior officers who are ahead would proceed on retirement.

A total of twenty-nine Major Generals in the Army have been approved to proceed on terminal leave in lieu of their eventual retirement, namely:

1. JB Olawumi

2. JO Akomolafe

3. CO Ude

4. G Oyefesobi

5. MO Uzoh

6. CC Okonkwo

7. MSA Aliyu

8. UM Mohammed

9. BM Shafa

10. NE Angbazo

11. YP Auta

12. SA Yaro

13. J Sarham

14. HE Ayamasoawei

15. OF Azinta

16. BA Akinroluyo

17. KAY Isiyaku

18. AT Hamman

19. AM Aliyu

20. HPZ Vintienagba

21. HR Momoh

22. JR Unuigbe

23. AA Jidda

24. OI Uzomere

25. MH Magaji

26. LA Adegboye

27. MA Masanawa

28. OA Akinyemi

29. AM Dauda

Next Post
Syspera Security and NITDA to host Cybersecurity Awareness Month 2021
Previous Post
Biden signs executive orders on climate change, immigration, COVID-19 on first day